Thursday, March 31, 2016

Recognizing Journalism: 24th Annual McCormick Foundation High School Media Awards

by Jennifer Choi, Program Officer

On March 10, 2016, the Scholastic Press Association of Chicago (SPAC) hosted its 24th annual High School Journalism Conference at Roosevelt University’s Gage Building, and the Robert R. McCormick Foundation High School Media Awards at the Chicago Cultural Center. This is Chicago’s largest high school journalism event.

SPAC supports high school journalists and their advisers through the provision of workshops, scholarship and professional development and curricular resources throughout the year. With the continued challenges of looming school budget cuts, this conference and awards ceremony celebrates and highlights the ongoing commitment of students, teachers and administrators who work hard to champion the critical role of student voice in healthy and happy schools.

Photo by Linda Jones, Roosevelt University

The event attracts more than 230 high school journalism students and 15 teachers and advisers from 10 Chicago-area high schools every year. In the morning, the conference offers three tracks of workshops (each track features up to ten concurrent session options to choose from, taught by more than 25 volunteer professional journalist and faculty presenters) for journalism students to learn more about their craft, including topics such as mobile journalism, investigative journalism techniques and design.

The awards ceremony highlights 25 categories of journalism, and recognizes a Chicago high school principal as “principal of the year” for his/her outstanding support for student journalism and media. At the ceremony, two McCormick fellowships of $1,000 are additionally awarded to one student and one faculty member to attend summer workshops for each recipient.

Congratulations to SPAC and all the 2016 winners!

Read about the McCormick Foundation High School
Media Award winners and their work!

No comments:

Post a Comment